1 800 222 6872

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons / Christopher Hogwood, et al

Audio Samples

Album Summary

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerto for Violin in E major, Op. 8 no 1/RV 269 "Primavera"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This acclaimed recording of Vivaldi's popular Four Seasons concertos makes a welcome return on CD. Each of the four concertos has a different soloist, a decision believed to match Vivaldi's original practice more closely than the usual modern allocation to a single player. The sololists here are Christopher Hirons (Spring), John Holloway (Summer), Alison Bury (Autumn) and Catherine Mackintosh (Winter).

Penguin Guide
With a different soloist for each of the four concertos, Hogwood directs the Academy of Ancient Music in lively performances with exceptionally imaginative use of continuo contrasts... ..These performances have a high place among authentic version


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerto for Violin in E major, Op. 8 no 1/RV 269 "Primavera"
  • Performers: Alison Bury (Violin); Christopher Hirons (Violin); Christopher Hogwood (Harpsichord); Christopher Hogwood (Organ); John Holloway (Violin); Catherine Mackintosh (Violin)
  • Conductor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Ensemble: Academy of Ancient Music
  • Running Time: 37 min. 51 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1725