1 800 222 6872

Monteverdi: L'Orfeo / Helmut Koch, et al

Album Summary

>Monteverdi, Claudio : L'Orfeo
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Today, Monteverdi's setting of the classical Orpheus legend is performed in concert and on records in the "authentic' Baroque style. This historic performance from nearly 60 years ago presents an early, almost improvisatory approach to what was a "new" score to many. Helmut Koch, best known as a Handel specialist, proved to be a true pioneer in bringing this work to the attention of the operatic world.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Monteverdi, Claudio : L'Orfeo
  • Performers: Walter Hauck (Baritone); Josef Hausmann (Zither); Werner Kahl (Bass); Helmut Krebs (Tenor); Gerda Lammers (Soprano); Max Meili (Tenor); Bernhard Michaelis (Tenor); Gerhard Raker; Elfriede Trötschel (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Helmut Koch
  • Ensemble: Berlin Chamber Orchestra
  • Notes: 11/18/1949-12/06/1949
  • Running Time: 1 min. 49 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1607