1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto no 2; Ravel / Li, Ozawa, et al

Album Summary

>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Piano no 2 in G minor, Op. 16
>Ravel, Maurice : Concerto for Piano in G major
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Yundi Li teams up with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Seiji Ozawa for his second orchestral recording. Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2 is the most brilliant and virtuosic of his concertos for both soloist and orchestra - and one of the least recorded. Yundi Li is joined by one of the world's greatest orchestras, the Berliner Philharmoniker, under Seiji Ozawa. The Ravel Piano Concerto, a perennial hit with its haunting and jazzy second movement, rounds out the programme.

"Yundi Li takes the solo part in his stride, if not always as unequivocally jazzy and insouciant as ideal, but with many delicate and candid touches that are kept gratifyingly within Ravel’s 'watchmaker' and 'private' persona without dampening either the humour or the pathos of the music – the slow movement, at an ideally flowing tempo, catches well its Mozartean 'simplicity' and is all the more poignant for it... the Ravel is the pearl here (one of the best versions, nearly challenging the classic Samson Francois/Andre Cluytens taping on EMI). For the Ravel alone, Yundi Li’s disc is recommended, the Prokofiev a red-blooded bonus." -ClassicalSource.com


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Prokofiev, Sergey : Concerto for Piano no 2 in G minor, Op. 16
  • Performer: Yundi Li (Piano)
  • Conductor: Seiji Ozawa
  • Ensemble: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1912-13.
  • Running Time: 30 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1912-1913

>Ravel, Maurice : Concerto for Piano in G major
  • Running Time: 20 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1929-1931