1 800 222 6872

Schubert: Die schöne Müllerin / Elwes, Slowik

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Die schone Mullerin, D 795/Op. 25
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Baritones, back off! Filling a serious gap in the catalog, this sensitively detailed reading of Franz Schubert's first song cycle, 'Die Schone Mullerin', features tenor John Ewles and polymath Kenneth Slowik at the 1830 Conrad Graf fortepiano loaned from the Smithsonian's collection of music instruments. At last, we can hear both the type of voice (tenor) and keyboard, for which the piece was intended. A masterpiece of Shakespearean depth and complexity, the work sounds startlingly fresh and vital in this performance.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Die schöne Müllerin, D 795/Op. 25
  • Performers: John Elwes (Tenor); Kenneth Slowik (Fortepiano)
  • Notes: Hall of Musical Instruments, National Museum of American History, Behring Center, Smithsonian Instit (12/10/2002-12/12/2002)
  • Running Time: 56 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Vocal
  • Written: 1823