1 800 222 6872

Handel: Acis & Galatea Scenes / Sutherland, Boult, et al

Album Summary

>Handel, George Frideric : As When the Dove Laments Her Love (Handel)
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Originally issued on LP by Decca in 1960, this vintage recording, representing a rare collaboration of Peter Pears and Joan Sutherland, has been out of print for many years and is sure to make a renewed impact in all its re-mastered glory. Currently there are at least nine recordings available of the work in one version or another; however, the late Alan Blyth hailed this recorded edition as being as close to definitive as one gets. In particular, Blyth writes that "the great strength of this version is Peter Pears whose singing of the Acis aria 'Love in her eyes sits playing' is an object lesson in style and beautiful phrasing, perfectly articulated and with a charming almost sensuous lilt to its rhythm."

Gramophone Magazine
Boult's leisurely pace for the Sinfonia and tender shaping of "Heart, O seat of soft delight" are immaculate, Peter Pears's delivery of Acis's death scene is movingly delivered... and Joan Sutherland's best singing here is silvery, limpid, more convincing than any of her other Handel performances on disc.

Penguin Guide
Sutherland in fresh, youthful voice makes a splendid Galatea, sparkling in the florid passages, warmly sympathetic in the lyrical music. Peter Pears, too, is at his finest...while Owen Brannigan was surely born to play Polyphemus...Boult's sympathetic direction ensures that the music-making has a lift throughout.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Handel, George Frideric : As When the Dove Laments Her Love (Handel)
  • Performers: Owen Brannigan (Bass); Thurston Dart (Harpsichord); David Galliver (Tenor); Peter Pears; Joan Sutherland
  • Conductor: Adrian Boult
  • Ensemble: Philomusica of London
  • Notes: Composition written: 1718.
  • Running Time: 74 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1718