1 800 222 6872

Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen / Keilberth, et al

Album Summary

>Wagner, Richard : Der Ring des Nibelungen
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Testament is proud to present the first-ever stereo recording of the 'Ring' cycle featuring definitive performances by Wolfgang Windgassen as Siegfried, Hans Hotter as Wotan, Astrid Varnay as Brunnhilde, Ramon Vinay as Siegmund, Josef Greindl as Hagen and Paul Kuen as Mime, all thrillingly conducted by Joseph Keilberth. These live 1955 Bayreuth Festival performances were taped by Decca's ace recording team, but at the time the release was vetoed by producer John Culshaw, who was busy making plans for the upcoming studio cycle with Solti. Now at last these legendary live performances can all be enjoyed on 14 CDs offered for the price of 9.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wagner, Richard : Der Ring des Nibelungen
  • Performers: Jean Watson (Alto); Gerda Lammers (Soprano); Herta Wilfert (Soprano); Mina Bolotine (Soprano); Hermann Uhde (Baritone); Jutta Vulpius (Soprano); Astrid Varnay (Soprano); Paul Kuen (Tenor); Maria Ilosvay (Alto); Josef Traxel (Tenor); Gré Brouwenstijn (Soprano); Ilse Hollweg (Soprano); Toni Blankenheim (Baritone); Elisabeth Schartel (Voice); Rudolf Lustig (Tenor); Ludwig Weber (Bass); Hilde Scheppan (Soprano); Ramón Vinay (Voice); Georgine Milinkovic (Mezzo Soprano); Gustav Neidlinger (Baritone); Wolfgang Windgassen (Voice); Josef Greindl (Bass); Hans Hotter (Voice); Maria Graf (Voice)
  • Conductor: Joseph Keilberth
  • Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1853-74.
  • Running Time: 4 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1853-1874
  • Studio/Live: Live