1 800 222 6872

Roussel: Symphony no 3, Le festin de l'araignée / Christoph Eschenbach, Orchestre de Paris

Album Summary

>Roussel, Albert : Symphony no 3 in G minor, Op. 42
>Roussel, Albert : Le Festin de l'araignee, ballet, Op. 17
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This Albert Roussel disc couples two of the composer’s most popular pieces, which are given authentic performances by the compatriot Orchestre de Paris under music director Christoph Eschenbach. It is the final in a successful cycle of three releases featuring the four symphonies and two ballets by the French composer. The 'Third Symphony', which was given its world premiere in Boston in 1930, is a true masterpiece and remains the most popular of Roussel’s symphonic works. 'Le Festin de l’araignee' (The Spider’s Feast) was completed in 1913 and is one of Roussel’s two most celebrated ballets. While there are many accounts of the symphonic fragments, this disc contains the complete ballet music.

Gramophone Magazine
Eschenbach's understanding of Roussell is manifestly profound and his way with the music quietly compelling and persuasive. Very highly recommended.

The Guardian
Eschenbach subjects [the Third Symphony] to radical scrutiny, though his take on the piece won't be to all tastes. This is a dark interpretation of a work usually considered optimistic and urbane. What we think of as a joyous explosion of rhythm often sounds savage and perplexing. There's turmoil beneath the elegant veneer of the melodic lines. He's right, of course, to argue that we shouldn't dismiss the Third as lightweight. At the same time, it's all a bit too self-consciously done, and Eschenbach seems altogether happier with the ambiguities of Le Festin de l'Araignée...Eschenbach's understanding of the mixture of surface charm and underlying malaise is marvellously acute, and the playing is often devastating in its brilliance.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Roussel, Albert : Symphony no 3 in G minor, Op. 42
  • Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach
  • Ensemble: Orchestre de Paris
  • Running Time: 26 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1929-1930

>Roussel, Albert : Le Festin de l'araignée, ballet, Op. 17
  • Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach
  • Ensemble: Orchestre de Paris
  • Running Time: 3 min. 56 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Ballet
  • Written: 1912-1913