1 800 222 6872

Perez: It's Happenin' *

Track List

>Will You Still Be There
>Blame It on My Youth
>In the Wee Small Hours
>Farmers Market
>Detour Ahead
>Nature Boy

Album Reviews:

JazzTimes (p.117) - "[S]he sticks exclusively to time-honored classics, handling everything from the tricky curves of 'Milestones' and boppin' bounce of 'Farmer's Market' to the slowly unraveling uncertainty of 'Detour Ahead' and haunted otherworldliness of 'Nature Boy' with aplomb."

Album Notes

Personnel: Diana Perez (vocals); Jed Levy (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ron Horton (trumpet, flugelhorn); Steve Davis (trombone, bass instrument); David Hazeltine (piano); Joe Farnsworth (drums).

Audio Mixer: Michael Marciano.

Liner Note Author: Stanley Crouch.

Recording information: Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, NY (09/10/2007).

Author: Helen Sung.

Photographer: John Abbott .

Arrangers: David Hazeltine; Jed Levy.

Perez's third CD is her first opportunity to record for a U.S. label, in the company of fellow New Yorkers for this engaging session. The rich-toned alto has a touch of vibrato at the end of her phrases in "Will You Still Be There," a hip vocal version of Herbie Hancock's song. She is very focused in the breezy samba setting of the bittersweet "Blame It on My Youth." She masters Annie Ross' vocalese set to Art Farmer's "Farmers Market," with delightful accompaniment by pianist David Hazeltine and flutist Jed Levy, while she also excels in Giacomo Gates' vocalese rendition of Miles Davis' "Milestones," featuring trombonist Steve Davis to good effect. Her moving "Detour Ahead" has an air of hope, while the imaginative scoring of "Nature Boy" keeps it from getting predictable. An excellent date by a jazz vocalist deserving of wider recognition. ~ Ken Dryden


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review