1 800 222 6872

Wayne Horvitz (Composer/Keyboard): Joe Hill: 16 Actions for Orchestra *

Track List

>Action 1: Powe In The Union
>Action 2: One Day-One Hour
>Action 3: Worthy Of His Food
>Action 4: Jerusalem, Jerusalem
>Action 5: It's A Lie
>Action 6: On Another Shore
>Action 7: Spike Driver's Blues
>Action 8: The Land As A Stranger
>Action 9: Lumberjack's Prayer
>Action 10: To Have This Hour
>Action 11: Hard Time In The Country
>Action 12: I Never Died
>Action 13: Nameless, Faceless
>Action 14: Bound To Wake Up
>Action 15: How To Die
>Action 16: Where Flowers Grow

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

"The orchestral part is significant; far from being just an accompaniment to the singers, it provides a strong, colorful commentary on the dramatic situations. It also prominently features an improvised electric guitar part, played imaginatively here by Frisell. Rinde Eckert, Danny Barnes, and Robin Holcomb sing beautifully, soulfully, and are convincing as actors in the spoken parts. Christian Knapp leads the Northwest Sinfonia in a polished and passionate performance. Joe Hill is a powerful and moving work that deserves to be widely heard. Highly recommended." -All Music Guide

Album Reviews:

The Wire - "Songs of protest, some written by Hill, are woven together with sweeping strings that often hark back harmonically to Aaron Copland."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product