1 800 222 6872

Schubert: Mass in E flat D 950 / Richard Hickox, Gritton, Stephen, Padmore, Gilchrist, Rose, et al

Album Summary

>Schubert, Franz : Mass in E flat major, D 950
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Schubert's final mass and most ambitious setting was composed during the summer of 1828, only months before his death. Much more than his previous efforts in the genre, it is a choral mass, relegating the vocal soloists to three brief episodes to allow for large chorus passages, and provides an extremely active role for the orchestra. Today, the Mass in E Flat is increasingly acknowledged as an individual masterpiece; powerful and disquieting, more monumental than the fifth, but likewise seeking to reconcile liturgical grandeur with Schubert's own subjective romantic feeling, whilst still influenced by Haydn, Beethoven and Bach. Richard Hickox has long wanted to record this powerful work. This recording follows the successful concert at the 2007 BBC Proms.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schubert, Franz : Mass in E flat major, D 950
  • Performers: James Gilchrist (Tenor); Susan Gritton (Soprano); Mark Padmore; Matthew Rose (Bass-Baritone); Pamela Stephen (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Ensemble: Collegium Musicum 90
  • Notes: St Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead Garden Suburb, London, England (07/26/2007-07/27/2007)
  • Running Time: 51 min. 32 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1828