1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Così Fan Tutte, K 588 / Mackerras, Watson, Montague, Maltman, Spence, Garrett, Et Al

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Cosi fan tutte, K 588
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

'Cosi fan tutte' is Mozart's third opera to a Da Ponte libretto. It is in 'opera buffa' style and has only six characters, two couples and an elderly philosopher and a trusted maid. The conductor, Sir Charles Mackerras, has spent many years researching performance practice of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and is a noted authority on Mozart's operas. He writes of this recording, 'it is indeed a pleasure having the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment lending its expertise in tonal colour, phrasing and rhythmic impulse to Mozart's wonderful score I have chosen to record this English version of 'Cosi fan tutte' with the traditional cuts, thus making it closer to a staged performance'.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Così fan tutte, K 588
  • Performers: Thomas Allen (Baritone); John Cohen (Cello); Lesley Garrett; Christopher Maltman (Baritone); Diana Montague (Mezzo Soprano); Ronald Schneider (Fortepiano); Toby Spence (Tenor); David Watkin (Cello); Janice Watson (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Charles Mackerras
  • Ensemble: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
  • Notes: Watford Colosseum (01/03/2007-01/06/2007)
  • Running Time: 78 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1790