1 800 222 6872

Romberg: Der Messias / Max, Winter, Schäfer, Abele, Scheffel, et al

Album Summary

>Romberg, Andreas : Der Messias, oratorio
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Although Andreas Romberg was celebrated as a violin virtuoso and composer during his lifetime, his fame did not earn him a lasting place in music history – which often judges unjustly. Bonn, Hamburg, and Gotha were his career stations. He wrote his Messiah in 1793 while still in Bonn and later performed it in Hamburg, his new place of work, in 1800. He clearly regarded it as his main work and his favorite one as well, and he repeatedly occupied himself with it, returning to it for revisions. CPO's recording premiere of this impressive and stirring work at the same time marks the beginning of a musical monument series to be presented and released in cooperation with the ZEIT Foundation and Deutschlandradio: Musica sacra Hamburgensis 1600-1800.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Romberg, Andreas : Der Messias, oratorio
  • Performers: Ekkehard Abele (Bass); Veronika Winter (Soprano); Immo Schröder (Tenor); Bernard Scheffel; Markus Schafer (Voice)
  • Conductor: Hermann Max
  • Ensemble: Rheinische Kantorei
  • Notes: Studio Stolberger Straáe, Cologne, Germany (02/20/2007-02/22/2007)
  • Running Time: 3 min. 57 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1802