1 800 222 6872

Ben Wolfe: No Strangers Here [Slimline]

Track List

>Minnick Rule, The
>No Strangers Here
>No Pat No
>Filth, The
>Blue Envy
>Rosy & Zero
>Jackie Mac
>Groovy Medium

Album Reviews:

JazzTimes (p.82) - "[A]n album that rewards repeat listening with its imaginative pairing of jazz and string quartets."

Album Notes

Personnel: Cyrus Beroukhim, Jesse Mills (violin); Kenji Bunch (viola); Wolfram Koessel (cello); Victor Goines (bass clarinet); Marcus Strickland, Branford Marsalis (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Terell Stafford (trumpet); Luis Perdomo (piano); Gregory Hutchinson, Jeff "Tain" Watts (drums).

Audio Mixer: Todd Whitelock.

Liner Note Author: Ben Wolfe.

Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York, NY (02/06/2007/02/07/2007).

Photographers: Chris Chu; Jimmy Katz; Jimmy Ryan ; Todd Whitelock.

Arranger: Ben Wolfe.

Bassist Ben Wolfe's resume as a sideman is extensive, having recorded with Harry Connick, Jr., Wynton Marsalis, Diana Krall, Carl Allen, and many others. But he is also a valuable leader and composer, as heard on his fifth CD. His core band includes saxophonist Marcus Strickland, pianist Luis Perdomo, and drummer Greg Hutchinson, with a number of guests appearing on select tracks. The tense "The Minnick Rule" adds trumpeter "Terell Stafford" in a performance that suggests a bustling metropolitan setting. Branford Marsalis is featured on soprano sax in the sentimental ballad "Milo" and switches to tenor for the gritty "The Filth," with a string quartet added on both songs. Both the lush ballad "No Strangers Here" and the swaggering "Jackie Mac" incorporate the string quartet as well, the latter showcasing the leader's fine solo. Bass clarinetist Victor Goines is showcased in the warm, haunting "Blue Envy." Recommended. ~ Ken Dryden


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product