1 800 222 6872

Verdi: Rigoletto / Ferenc Fricsay, et al

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Rigoletto
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Audite's laudable series devoted to Ferenc Fricsay continues with the work which started his career as an opera conductor. He first led a performance in Szeged, Hungary, in 1940 at only 26. In fact, it was the Szeged Theatre's first operatic staging of any kind. For this 1950 radio performance, the German translation is used, typical of the practice of German opera houses of the time, and is somewhat abridged. Fricsay put special emphasis on the dramatization of orchestral shades and colors that reflect the opera's drama. Fricsay never recorded this work complete and in the original language, so we are indebted to Audite for making this historical document available on CD.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Rigoletto
  • Performers: Leopold Clam (Bass); Fritz Hoppe (Bass); Otto Husch (Voice); Wilhelm Lang (Bass); Silvia Menz (Voice); Josef Metternich (Baritone); Ralf Peters (Voice); Rudolf Schock (Tenor); Rita Streich (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Ferenc Fricsay
  • Ensemble: Berlin RIAS Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Jesus Christ Church, Berlin, Germany (09/20/1950-09/30/1950)
  • Running Time: 7 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1851