1 800 222 6872

Hiromi: Beyond Standard

Track List

>Intro: Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
>Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
>Clair de Lune
>Ue Wo Muite Aruko
>My Favorite Things
>Led Boots
>I've Got Rhythm

Album Notes

Hiromi: David Fuiczynski (guitar, fretless guitar); Hiromi Uehara (piano, keyboards); Tony Grey (bass guitar).

Audio Mixer: Michael Bishop .

Recording information: Great Hall at Allaire Studios, Shokan, NY (01/09/2008-01/12/2008); The Great Hall At Allaire Studios, Shokan, NY (01/09/2008-01/12/2008).

For her fifth Telarc disc, keyboardist Hiromi Uehara departs from her usual program of original material for an album of standards. It's to her credit that the disc actually lives up to its title, as BEYOND isn't merely a pleasant walk down memory lane. She and her very able ensemble, featuring guitarist David "Fuze" Fiuczynski (who can both blaze and simmer), apply semi-surreal but melodious fusion treatments to standards like "Softly As In A Morning Sunrise" and "I've Got Rhythm." Hiromi spins out some nimble, percussive, and lyrical runs on the keys and the rhythms are alternately engaging and languid. Who says that fusion is dead?


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

  • >Duet (Corea, Chick)
There are no recommendations posted for this product