1 800 222 6872

Philip Glass: The Concerto Project Vol 3 / Dennis Russell Davies, et al

Album Summary

>Glass, Philip : Concerto Grosso, for orchestra
>Glass, Philip : Saxophone Quartet, for 4 saxophones
Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Concerto Project Vol. III is the penultimate installment in a series documenting the eight Glass concertos. Each movement of the 'Concerto Grosso' - performed by the Beethoven Orchester Bonn led by Dennis Russell Davies - is written for a distinctive group of instruments: the winds, the brass, the strings, which together make up a symphonic ensemble. The 'Concerto for Saxophone Quartet' was commissioned by the internationally renowned Rascher Saxophone Quartet who performs the work here in an alternate version Glass conceived to be played without the orchestra.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Glass, Philip : Concerto Grosso, for orchestra
  • Conductor: Dennis Davies
  • Ensemble: Beethovenhalle Orchestra
  • Running Time: 18 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1992

>Glass, Philip : Saxophone Quartet, for 4 saxophones
  • Ensemble: Raschèr Saxophone Quartet
  • Running Time: 22 min. 48 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1995