1 800 222 6872

John Garth: Six Concertos for Cello / Tunnicliffe, Beznosiuk, et al

Album Summary

>Garth, John III : Concerto for Cellos (6), Op. 1
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

John Garth was one of six children born to a landowner in Durham, England which, at the time, was an important seat of political power and whose musical life centered around the Cathedral. Little is known of Garth's early life, but he would become one of the most important pupils of Charles Avison (1709-1770). A composer of an extensive output, these Concertos were written especially for his own instrument to display his considerable talents. Nothing similar had been composed in Great Britain; in fact, these works should be considered the first major Cello concertos by an early British composer. Today, Avision's name has outlasted that of his talented pupil, but this important release should restore Garth's reputation for today's listeners.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Garth, John III : Concerto for Cellos (6), Op. 1
  • Performer: Richard Tunnicliffe (Cello)
  • Conductor: Pavlo Beznosiuk
  • Ensemble: Avison Ensemble
  • Notes: The Picture Gallery, Paxton House, Berwick upon Tweed (12/10/2006-12/13/2006)
  • Running Time: 90 min. 41 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Concerto