1 800 222 6872

Dizzy Gillespie: The Cool World [Slimline]

Track List

>Theme From "The Cool World"
>Pushers, The
>Enter, Priest
>Duke's Awakening
>Duke On The Run
>Street Music
>Bonnie's Blues
>Duke's Fantasy
>Duke's Last Soliloquy

Album Notes

Personnel: Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); James Moody (flute, tenor saxophone); Kenny Barron (piano); Rudy Collins (drums).

Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.

Recording information: New York, NY.

Authors: Jesse Walker; Judith E. Christ; Bayard Rustin; Bosley Crowther; James Farmer.

Although Dizzy Gillespie is usually associated with the bebop revolution of the 1930s and `40s, he continued to innovate, recording prolifically, well into the 1990s. Dizzy hit a particularly productive stretch in the 1960s, and his soundtrack for Shirley Clarke's 1964 film, THE COOL WORLD, is one of the gems of this period.

All the tunes on the album were composed by the pianist Mal Waldron, and Dizzy interprets their moody, minor-key atmospheres with nuance and style. The music draws mostly on straight bop, with the occasional passage demonstrating a rich Ellingtonian sweep. The playing is top-notch throughout, especially from Diz, who was still in full command of his considerable powers.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product