1 800 222 6872

Glass: Waiting for the Barbarians / Dennis Russell Davies, et al

Album Summary

>Glass, Philip : Waiting for the Barbarians, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Philip Glass' socio-political opera 'Waiting for the Barbarians' (2005) is set to a laconic libretto by Christopher Hampton, based on the 1980 novel by South African Nobel laureate J.M. Coetzee. A triumph at its German premiere, the opera was conceived by Glass as "a harrowing allegory of the war between oppressors and the oppressed," dramatizing the universal themes of confrontation, crisis and redemption.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Glass, Philip : Waiting for the Barbarians, opera
  • Performers: Andreas Mitschke (Bass); Michael Tews (Bass); Richard Salter (Bass-Baritone); Máté Sólyom-Nagy (Voice); Kelly God (Soprano); Elvira Soukop (Mezzo Soprano); Grit Redlich (Soprano); Manuel Meyer (Bass); Marisca Mulder (Soprano); Peter Umstadt (Tenor); Eugene Perry (Baritone)
  • Conductor: Dennis Davies
  • Ensemble: Erfurt Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 128 min. 49 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2004-2005
  • Studio/Live: Live