1 800 222 6872

Schnittke: Viola Concerto; Shostakovich: Viola Sonata / Kitayenko, Tamestit, Hadulla, Warsaw PO

Album Summary

>Schnittke, Alfred : Concerto for Viola
>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 147
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

"His technique is pristine, and even the most demanding of extended techniques called for (in particular by Schnittke) are executed with a sense of complete ease. This allows Tamestit to focus on the greatest challenge in these two cornerstones of the viola repertoire: conveying their emotional, musical message. Here again, Tamestit seems completely at home, whether demonstrating the brutal angst of Schnittke or the occasional, surprising joviality of Shostakovich. Overall sound quality of the album is clear, warm, and intimate." -All Music Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schnittke, Alfred : Concerto for Viola
  • Performer: Antoine Tamesit (Viola)
  • Conductor: Dmitri Kitayenko
  • Ensemble: Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 33 min. 2 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1985

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 147
  • Performers: Markus Hadulla (Piano); Antoine Tamesit (Viola)
  • Notes: Composition written: 1975.
  • Running Time: 31 min. 39 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1975