1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Cello Concerto no 2; Britten: Cello Suite no 3 / Wispelwey, Hempel, Sinfonia Cracovia

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Concerto for Cello no 2 in G major, Op. 126
>Britten, Benjamin : Suite for solo cello no 3, Op. 87
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

This CD presents music composed by Benjamin Britten and Dmitri Shostakovich, two of the most striking personalities of the 20th century musical history, who were also united by an intimate friendship. They both also shared reciprocal friendship with the inspiring and energetic Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, who gave the premier of both the three 'Suites' for solo cello by Britten and the second cello concerto by Shostakovich. On this disc, Pieter Wispelwey is accompanied for the Shostakovich by the Sinfonietta Cracovia, a group that ranks among the leading Polish and European orchestras.

"Whereas Müller-Schott and Kreizberg view the Concerto as a darkly contemplative monologue that is almost suffocating in its brooding introspection, Wispelwey manages to find more light and shade and greater emotional contrast in the solo part." -BBC Music Magazine *****

"Wispelwey catches the grave beauty of Shostakovich's opening Largo, with phrasing that is highly inflected but never to the point of self-conscious indulgence. Add to this an altogether exceptional sense of creative dialogue between soloist and orchestra and you have a performance that richly repays repeated hearings... Wispelwey brings a similar blend of colouristic and poetic imagination to bear on Britten's uncompromising Suite, making it a real journey of exploration." -Gramophone Magazine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Concerto for Cello no 2 in G major, Op. 126
  • Performer: Pieter Wispelwey (Cello)
  • Conductor: Jurgen Hempel
  • Notes: Composition written: 1966.
  • Running Time: 35 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1966

>Britten, Benjamin : Suite for solo cello no 3, Op. 87
  • Performer: Pieter Wispelwey (Cello)
  • Running Time: 14 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1971