1 800 222 6872

Portico Quartet: Knee-Deep in the North Sea

Track List

>News from Verona
>(Something's Going Down On) Zavodovski Island
>Knee-Deep in the North Sea
>Too Many Cooks
>Steps in the Wrong Direction
>Monsoon: Top to Bottom
>Kon-Tiki Expedition, The
>Prickly Pear
>All the Pieces Matter [BBC Maida Vale Session] - (live)
>Knee-Deep in the North Sea [Live in Copenhagen] - (live)
>Steps in the Wrong Direction [Live in Copenhagen] - (live)

Album Reviews:

Uncut (magazine) (p.97) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Leckie's soundboard skills move Portico's inventive jazz/classical noodlings even closer to Radiohead..."

Album Notes

Personnel: Jack Wyllie (saxophone); Milo Fitzpatrick (double bass); Duncan Bellamy (drums).

Audio Mixer: John Leckie.

Recording information: Copenhagen Jazzhouse, Denmark (02/07/2007-08/08/2007); Livingston Studios, London (02/07/2007-08/08/2007); Copenhagen Jazzhouse, Denmark (07/02/2010); Livingston Studios, London (07/02/2010).

Arranger: Portico Quartet.

On its debut CD, KNEE DEEP IN THE NORTH SEA, Mercury Prize-nominated combo the Portico Quartet delivers an unusually meditative brand of world music-influenced jazz that matches a minimalist classical music vibe with a pop/jam band-informed compositional sense. Centered on repeated figures played on the hang (a type of steel drum) and soprano saxophonist Jack Wylie's Wayne Shorter-esque improvisational explorations, Portico Quartet's music should appeal to fans of Weather Report and the Dave Matthews Band alike.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased