1 800 222 6872

Monteverdi: Madrigals Book 7 / Longhini, Delitiae Musicae

Album Summary

>Monteverdi, Claudio : Madrigals, Book 7, for 1,2,3,4 & 6 voices, SV 117-145
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The 'Concerto' (as Claudio Monteverdi entitled his 'Seventh Book of Madrigals') was published five years after the 'Sixth Book' had appeared. It represents a clear break with Monteverdi's earlier publications: here the madrigal is transformed or, perhaps, it would be better to say it has vanished, at least in the form that would have been recognized up to that point. Of 32 compositions there is not a single five-voice madrigal, only pieces for one to four voices, all with basso continuo, some with violins, along with works that might be called 'experimental'. Marco Longhini's new complete critical edition, the first since Malipiero's 1932 edition, was prepared specifically for this recording.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Monteverdi, Claudio : Madrigals, Book 7, for 1,2,3,4 & 6 voices, SV 117-145
  • Conductor: Marco Longhini
  • Ensemble: Delitiae Musicae
  • Notes: Chiesa di San Briccio, Verona, Italy (04/29/2004-05/05/2004)
  • Running Time: 117 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: 1619