1 800 222 6872

Markevitch: Complete Orchestral Works Vol 1 / Lyndon-Gee, et al

Album Summary

>Markevitch, Igor : Partita, for piano & orchestra
>Markevitch, Igor : Le Paradis Perdu (Paradise Lost)
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This first volume of the Naxos 'Igor Markevitch Complete Orchestral Works Edition', to be followed by the seven volumes previously released on Marco Polo, brings together two relatively early compositions of astonishing technical and aesthetic assurance. The 'Partita' is in effect already his second 'Piano Concerto', written when the composer was twenty. The granitic oratorio 'Paradise Lost', whose premiere the composer himself conducted at the BBC in London barely three years later, is among the most important of the composer's works, bearing comparison with Stravinsky's contemporaneous 'OEdipus Rex' and 'Persephone', yet of striking individuality of vision.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Markevitch, Igor : Partita, for piano & orchestra
  • Performer: Martijn Hoek (Piano)
  • Conductor: Christopher Lyndon-Gee
  • Ensemble: Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Musis Sacrum, Arnhem, The Netherlands (06/20/1997-06/21/1997)
  • Running Time: 18 min. 8 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1931

>Markevitch, Igor : Le Paradis Perdu (Paradise Lost)
  • Performers: Jon Garrison (Tenor); Lucy Shelton; Sarah Walker (Mezzo-soprano)
  • Conductor: Christopher Lyndon-Gee
  • Ensemble: Netherlands Concert Choir
  • Notes: Musis Sacrum, Arnhem, The Netherlands / Conzertzaal de Vereeniging, Nijmegen, The Netherlands (03/10/1999/03/11/1999)
  • Running Time: 57 min. 24 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern