1 800 222 6872

Shostakovich: Symphony no 10 in E minor Op 93 / Haitink, London PO

Album Summary

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 10 in E minor, Op. 93
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Shostakovich's Tenth Symphony was first performed shortly after Stalin's death in 1953. This was the first of his works to be completed without the restraints of strict communist artistic control hanging over him. A dark and tragic tone is projected throughout the symphony and the distinct contrasts create a dramatic and intense work. Recorded live at the Royal Albert Hall during the 1986 BBC Proms, Bernard Haitink and the London Philharmonic Orchestra give a compelling account of this monumental symphony.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Shostakovich, Dmitri : Symphony no 10 in E minor, Op. 93
  • Conductor: Bernard Haitink
  • Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1953.
  • Running Time: 54 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1953
  • Studio/Live: Live