1 800 222 6872

Britten: Billy Budd / Harding, Bostridge, Gunn, Saks, Davies, Rose, Lemalu, London SO, et al

Audio Samples

>Britten, Benjamin : Billy Budd, Op. 50

Album Summary

>Britten, Benjamin : Billy Budd, Op. 50
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

After the award-winning recording of Britten's 'Turn of the Screw' (Virgin Classics, 2002), Daniel Harding and Ian Bostridge meet again for another Britten opera, this time his great masterpiece 'Billy Budd'. The recording of the opera, in its definitive 2-act version, comes from a pair of concert performances at the Barbican Hall on December 7 & 9, 2007. Bostridge's intense, conflicted portrayal of the captain is perfectly matched by Harding's incisive reading of the score, and the ever popular Gunn rises to the occasion as the tortured principle character. The results are overwhelming, making for one of the most gripping, exhausting versions of this opera ever recorded.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Britten, Benjamin : Billy Budd, Op. 50
  • Performers: Darren Jeffrey (Bass); Samuel O Cionna (Voice); Nathan Gunn (Baritone); Ian Bostridge (Tenor); Alasdair Elliott (Tenor); Roderick Williams (Bass Baritone); Matthew Rose (Bass); Mark Stone (Voice); Neal Davies (Bass-Baritone); Matthew Best (Voice); Laurie Benson (Voice); Andrew Tortise (Tenor); Jonathan Lemalu (Bass Baritone); Andrew Vocal] (Tenor); Gidon Saks (Bass Baritone); Oba Charles (Voice); Kyle Kean (Voice); Daniel Teadt (Baritone); Andrew Staples (Tenor); Adam Green (Voice); Hugo Shepherd (Boy Alto)
  • Conductor: Daniel Harding
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Barbican, London, England (12/05/2007-12/09/2007)
  • Running Time: 5 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1951
  • Studio/Live: Live