1 800 222 6872

American Classics - Corigliano: A Dylan Thomas Trilogy / Slatkin, Allen, Tessier, Jackson, Nashville SO, et al

Album Summary

>Corigliano, John : A Dylan Thomas Trilogy
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"'Fern Hill' is a blithe poem, yet touched by darkness; time finally holds the poet "green and dying"... 'Poem in October' begins in Thomas' seafront town: the poet, marking his birthday, climbs to a high hill, where he reflects on his youth and mulls his future... 'Poem on his Birthday' distorts the "lamb-white days" of 'Fern Hill' to the grotesqueries of "herons who walk in their shroud": Poem in October's sparkling ocean becomes a gull-haunted river Styx... 'Author's Prologue' - his penultimate work - was a lavish, exultant poem that bellowed with lust and life. It called for music as unusual as it was buoyant. And it offered 'A Dylan Thomas Trilogy' the formal inevitability I always dreamed for it." -John Corigliano


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Corigliano, John : A Dylan Thomas Trilogy
  • Performers: Thomas Allen (Baritone); John Tessier (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin
  • Ensemble: Nashville Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Schermerhorn Symphony Center, Nashvilli, TN (12/02/2007-12/04/2007)
  • Running Time: 66 min. 3 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1960-1999