1 800 222 6872

Giya Kanchelli: Little Ember

Album Summary

>Kancheli, Giya [Composer] : Amao Omi, for chorus & saxohone quartet
>Kancheli, Giya [Composer] : Little Imber, for voice, children's & mens' choirs & small ensemble
Performers Conductors Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Giya Kancheli is one of ECM's central contemporary composers whose works have been championed by the label since the early nineties. This release features highly emotional reflections on the topics of war, peace and beauty in a style that mirrors both Eastern and Western traditions of sacred music. An extraordinary story lies behind the composition of 'Little Imber': The piece is named after an English village which was transformed into a military training ground during the Second World War.

Georgian composer, Giya Kancheli's tenth album on ECM New Series offers two recent large-scale choral works with unconventional instrumental forces. These two highly compelling new compositions mirror impressions of both Western and Georgian sacred music without actually alluding to religion itself. Written in 2003 and 2005 respectively, both Little Imber and Amao Omi are melancholic musings about the absurdity of war in conjunction with the power of beauty. Little Imber was commissioned for a festival in the deserted village of Imber - a former Military installation on England's Salisbury Plain and is the first site-specific work in Kancheli's oeuvre, whilst Amao Omi (the title translates as "Senseless war") was commissioned by the Nederlands Kamerkoor - a moving sound tapestry, underpinned by the subtle and supple playing of the Rascher Saxophone Quartet.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Kancheli, Giya [Composer] : Amao Omi, for chorus & saxohone quartet
  • Conductor: Klaas Stok
  • Ensemble: Raschèr Saxophone Quartet
  • Running Time: 26 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern

>Kancheli, Giya [Composer] : Little Imber, for voice, children's & mens' choirs & small ensemble
  • Performers: Mamuka Gaganidze (Voice); Nika Memanishvili (Keyboards); Zaza Miminoshvili (Guitar)
  • Conductor: Nika Memanishvili
  • Ensemble: Matrix Ensemble
  • Running Time: 35 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern