1 800 222 6872

Fauré: Requiem, Cantique de Jean Racine / Equilbey, Piau, Degout, et al

Album Summary

>Fauré, Gabriel : Requiem, Op. 48
>Fauré, Gabriel : Cantique de Jean Racine, Op. 11
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"The impact of the work is still quite strong and imposing in this chamber version, even when compared with performances of the full orchestral score of 1901, and it helps that the recording is full, deep, and vibrant, so textures are substantial and tone colors are rich, without giving the slightest impression that any forces are lacking. The choir of roughly 30 voices is as full as it needs to be, since Faure's intimate choral writing is translucent and best suited to a group around this size, and though it is best known as an a cappella ensemble, Accentus seems quite comfortable surrounded by the small body of strings, brass, timpani, harp, and organ... Highly recommended" -All Music Guide

Gramophone Classical Music Guide
Can there may be a more profoundly beautiful recording of FaurT's Requiem out there? We defy any sensitive soul not to be transported into a state of near rapture by the unspeakably delicious Sanctus, the solo violin of Luc HTry floating ethereally above the choral and orchestral textures like a skylark in full song.

What is it that makes this such a sublimely beautiful recording of a work which, let's face it, is more than generously represented in the catalogues? (For the record, this is the original scoring of the work - organ with chamber orchestra minus violins - which was finally published in 1969.) It's not just the lovely sound produced by the three dozen voices of Accentus, unquestionably one of the really top-notch choirs around at the moment, or the angelic voices of the Maetrise de Paris which point us heavenwards in the closing In Paradisum. Nor can the credit for such unremitting loveliness be laid wholly at the feet of the members of the Orchestre National de France, handling this famous score with rare sensitivity and delicacy, or the wonderful pair of soloists. StTphane Degout brings immeasurable poise to the Hostias, while Sandrine Piau's PieJesu has a wholly unaffected aura of purity and innocence - and has the string response to each line ever before been captured on disc with such utter gentleness? These are all exceptional elements, but the two things which transform this are the recording's location and Laurence Equilbey's inspired direction. The famous Parisian church of St Clotilde imbues the whole thing with an atmosphere of warmth and great tranquillity, the organ pedals perfectly proportioned (and superbly captured by the Nanve engineers), while Equilbey shapes and caresses every single phrase, every line, every note with the kind of loving care few conductors ever lavish on such a well known and technically undemanding score.

The result is a genuinely revelatory reading.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Basilique Sainte-Clotilde, Paris, France (01/2008).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924) : Requiem, Op. 48
  • Performers: Stéphane Degout (Voice); Christophe Henry (Organ); Luc Hery (Violin); Sandrine Piau (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Laurence Equilbey
  • Ensemble: Maîtrise de Paris
  • Running Time: 30 min. 17 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1887-1900

>Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924) : Cantique de Jean Racine, Op. 11
  • Performers: Stéphane Degout (Voice); Christophe Henry (Organ); Luc Hery (Violin); Sandrine Piau (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Laurence Equilbey
  • Ensemble: National Orchestra d'Ile de France
  • Running Time: 5 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1865