1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Symphony no 9 "Choral" / Blomstedt, Döse, Adam, Schiml, Schreier, Dresden Staatskapelle

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Schiller's 'Ode to Joy' although pre dating the French Revolution, was the nearest a German artist had come to espousing the same lofty ideas of equality and universal brotherhood. The great tune in the finale has become a motif for freedom the world over, and has become symbolic with freedom especially since the famous performance to celebrate the unification of Germany.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: Theo Adam (Bass); Helena Döse (Soprano); Marga Schiml (Mezzo Soprano); Peter Schreier (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt
  • Ensemble: Dresden Staatskapelle
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1822-1824