1 800 222 6872

Wellesz: Complete Symphonies / Rabl, Vienna RSO

Notes & Reviews:

Egon Wellesz's name often comes up together with Schonberg, Berg, and Webern when the Viennese school of the early twentieth century is the topic, even though he left behind that environment in quest of his own harmonic paths. Prior to the outbreak of World War II he was one of the most-performed composers in German-speaking Europe, and his five operas were successfully premiered at the leading German houses. Then things fell apart. He was forced into emigration in England in 1938 and Wellesz the composer remained silent until the end of the war, when he first regained his full creative powers. He then went on to compose almost half of his oeuvre after his sixtieth birthday. His nine symphonies are without a doubt the main works of this late period.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased