1 800 222 6872

Ruth Brown: Ms. B's Blues

Track List

>Ice Water in Your Veins
>Go on Fool
>Cabbage Head
>I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
>Too Little Too Late
>Destination Heartbreak
>That Train Don't Stop Here
>False Friend Blues
>Never Let Me Go
>Good Day for the Blues

Album Notes

Personnel: Ruth Brown (vocals); Bonnie Raitt (vocals, slide guitar); Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown, Duke Robillard, Rodney Jones (guitar); Ray Moore, Wessell Anderson (alto saxophone); Ed Petersen, Bill Easley (tenor saxophone); Victor Goines (baritone saxophone); Barney Floyd, Abram Wilson, Charlie Miller (trumpet); Delfeayo Marsalis, John Touchy (trombone); Bobby Forrester (piano); Herlin Riley, Akira Tana (drums).

Audio Mixers: David Farrell ; Steve Reynolds.

Recording information: The Magic Shop, NY (1997-1998); Ultrasonic Studios, New Orleans, LA (1997-1998).

Editor: Steve Reynolds.

Photographer: Jack Vartoogian.

Arrangers: Ruth Brown; Victor Goines; Wardell Quezergue; Bill Easley.

Part of Rounder Records' budget priced ESSENTIAL RECORDINGS series of single-artist anthologies, ESSENTIAL RECORDINGS: MS. B'S BLUES collects 10 of the blues shouter Ruth Brown's best tracks for the label. Simply but attractively packaged, this is the sort of inexpensive anthology designed to introduce the curious newcomer to an artist, and it does the job admirably. Highlights include "Ice Water In Your Veins," "Go On Fool," and "Too Little Too Late."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review