1 800 222 6872

Hindemith: Klaviermusic; Dvorák: Symphony no 9 / Christoph Eschenbach, Leon Fleisher, et al

Album Summary

>Hindemith, Paul : Concerto for Piano for the Left Hand, Op. 29
>Dvorak, Antonin : Symphony no 9 in E minor, Op. 95/B 178 "From the New World"
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

"Composed in 1921 for wealthy pianist Paul Wittgenstein, Hindemith's Klaviermusik mit Orchestra, Op. 29, was one of several compositions for left-hand only that Wittgenstein commissioned from the likes of Britten, Prokofiev, and Ravel after losing his right arm in WWI.... Why Wittgenstein never performed this piece is even more a mystery after hearing it; Wittgenstein must have known what Hindemith's music was like, and there are no real departures from the type of music Hindemith was composing at the time. Fleisher's performance is exactly what one might expect: electrifying. His earlier mastery of the other works for piano left hand make him the perfect performer for this composition. He brings forth an abundance of engaging rhythmic diversity, textural change, and musical energy." -All Music Guide

BBC Music Magazine
The Klaviermusik, in essence a four-movement concerto, proves to be no mere curiosity but vintage Hindemith of its period... Leon Fleisher, who not so long ago regained the use of his right hand after losing it for many years, is the appropriate, highly agile soloist. The orchestra, too, copes well with Hindemith's spare but relentlessly busy scoring, including a large percussion battery.

Gramophone Magazine
The Klaviermusik is a typical example of the Hindemith of the 1920s in his neoclassical style, ending with a chatteringly energetic finale - attractive enough if undemanding.

The Times
It's very much of the 1920s, but the mighty Fleisher makes the exhumation bracing...the orchestra supplies passion and the conductor Christoph Eschenbach has his sensitive moments.

The Telegraph
Leon Fleisher, who until recently suffered from a neurological condition that disabled his right hand, gives a dynamic performance of the solo part, and the Curtis Symphony Orchestra contributes energy and piquant colour.

The Guardian
This live recording is its first outing on disc - and if you care remotely about Hindemith, you will be angry that it has been suppressed for so long. The outer movements are examples of his abrasive early modernism at its finest. The slow movement, meanwhile, is a wonderful mix of Bach and blues, in which the piano picks out a stark counterpoint to a succession of woodwind solos over a pizzicato walking bass.

Penguin Guide
Eschenbach's reading of the New World is comparatively small-scale, with some lovely wind solos...[He] favours a very plain approach... The coupling, however, is fascinating.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Hindemith, Paul : Concerto for Piano for the Left Hand, Op. 29
  • Performer: Leon Fleisher (Piano)
  • Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach
  • Ensemble: Curtis Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 17 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1923
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Dvorak, Antonin : Symphony no 9 in E minor, Op. 95/B 178 "From the New World"
  • Conductor: Christoph Eschenbach
  • Ensemble: Curtis Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 01/10/1893-05/24/1893.
  • Running Time: 45 min. 26 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Studio/Live: Live