1 800 222 6872

Stravinsky: The Rake's Progress / Craft, West, Garrison, Woodley, Cheek, et al

Album Summary

>Stravinsky, Igor : Rake's Progress
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Robert Craft first met Stravinsky on the same day that Auden delivered the completed libretto to the composer, and was directly involved in what he describes as "the first step" in the composition of 'The Rake's Progress'. This was principally with regard to helping Stravinsky master the pronunciation, vocabulary and rhythms of the English text, and sharing the composer's excitement as the brilliantly conceived score took shape. This 1993 recording, conducted by Craft, is no less significant than Stravinsky's 1953 Metropolitan Opera recording.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Stravinsky, Igor : Rake's Progress
  • Performers: John Cheek (Bass); Jon Garrison (Tenor); Jeffrey Johnson (Baritone); Shirley Love (Mezzo Soprano); Melvin Lowery (Tenor); Jayne West (Soprano); Wendy White (Mezzo-soprano); Arthur Woodley (Bass)
  • Conductor: Robert Craft
  • Ensemble: Orchestra of St. Luke's
  • Notes: Performing Arts Center, SUNY, Purchase, NY (05/10/1993-05/18/1993)
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1951