1 800 222 6872

Telemann: Wind Concertos Vol 4 / Schneider, La Stagione Frankfurt

Notes & Reviews:

The five works forming Vol. 4 of Georg Philipp Telemann's complete wind concertos show him at the height of his mastery as a concerto composer. All the compositions offer original solutions to the problem of creating concerto music that is melodically rich and naturally flowing, strong in expression and demanding in compositional technique, and clearly emancipates itself from the Italian prescriptions of the three-movement solo concerto. The concertos were composed in close temporal proximity and incorporate various stylistic elements from France and Poland, borrowings from natural sounds, and a pastoral atmospheric basis while also maintaining an overall unity of style. La Stagione Frankfurt under Michael Schneider again renders audible this whole broad instrumental and stylistic spectrum.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased