1 800 222 6872

Graun: Grosse Passion / Max, Winter, Andersen, Schäfer, Abele, et al

Notes & Reviews:

The Prussian court music director Carl Heinrich Graun composed twenty-eight operas as well as many sacred works, with his successful passion cantata Der Tod Jesu above all enjoying a broad dissemination and regular repeat performances until the end of the nineteenth century. Prior to this work, however, Graun had written three other such works, including the passion Kommt her und schaut composed in Wolfenbuttel around 1730 and containing a total of sixty-six numbers - which earned it the name of the "Grand Passion". Its enormous variety of forms, instrumentations and formal types, and intensive, inner dynamic power attest to the astonishing maturity of the then about twenty-five-year-old composer and qualify Kommt her und schaut as a Northern German passion cantata masterpiece.

Gramophone Magazine
Veronika Winter sings Graun's charming and gentle music with an appealing vulnerability...Das Kleine Konzert's warm instrumental playing and Max's wise direction have revealed yet another gem.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased