1 800 222 6872

Haydn: Creation / Davis, Bostridge, Henschel, Matthews, London SO

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Many of Sir Colin Davis' recent releases on LSO Live have featured his favorite choral works, including Beethoven's Mass in C, Mozart's Requiem and Handel's Messiah. The next release in the series features Haydn's masterpiece Die Schopfung (The Creation) - a work that Davis has (surprisingly) never previously recorded. Sir Colin is joined by a sensational set of singers for his recording. Soprano Sally Matthews is joined by Ian Bostridge and Dietrich Henschel. Having been inspired by Handel's oratorios whilst in London, Haydn set Die Schopfung to a text originally intended for his predecessor. With bright orchestration and vivid imagery, Haydn's account of the world's creation confirmed that he too had mastered the art of musical dramatics and composed a work that is celebrated as one of the masterpieces of the classical era.

BBC Music Magazine
Colin Davis'sà response to the actual sound of the piece is beautifully managed throughout, with Haydn's sense of wonder coming vividly alive. The LSO is on unimpeachable form, with many thrilling individual touches, and overall there's as much colour and drama in their playing as in any of the modern instrument versions. Of the soloists, the finest is Dietrich Henschel, whose measured and humane performance is certainly advantaged by the text being sung in German on this occasion...

The Telegraph
What comes over particularly well here are the features that startled and delighted contemporaries - the harmonically daring representation of Chaos at the beginning and the vivid depiction of lions, stags, birds and crawling worms in Part 2. Sally Matthews and Ian Bostridge are compelling soloists.

Gramophone Magazine
Davisà combines an intense feeling for colour and atmosphere with a marvellous breadth and inevitability of phrase. àthe choir sings with sensitivity and full-throated enthusiasm; and Davis ensures that each of the choruses that close the three parts builds thrillingly to an incandescent climax. ... Dietrich Henschel is a fiery and imaginative Raphael and an ardent Adam... Sally Matthews, with a darker, creamier voice than most sopranos in this work, makes a sensuous Eve... I shall certainly return to this new recording: for much of the solo work, for the glorious playing of the LSO and, above all, for Davis's wise, joyous direction.

Sunday Times
What is offered here is an unapologetically opulent-sounding large-scale performance.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2
  • Performers: Ian Bostridge; Dietrich Henschel (Baritone); Sally Matthews (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Colin Davis
  • Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Barbican, London, England (10/06/2007-10/07/2007)
  • Running Time: 96 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1798
  • Studio/Live: Live