1 800 222 6872

Bruch: Arminius / Hermann Max

Album Summary

>Bruch, Max [Composer] : Arminius, oratorio for soloists, chorus & orchestra, Op. 43
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

In February 1875 Max Bruch chanced upon an epic poem by the young Westphalian teacher J. Cuppers and wrote enthusiastically of it to his publisher Simrock: "The verses are magnificent, of dithyrambic swing; the melodies automatically spring forth everywhere from this beautiful rhythm." At the very same time that the Arminius Monument was dedicated in the Teutoburg Forest near Detmold, Max Bruch was sitting with friends in the Bergisches Land and composing his Arminius. Although the text of Bruch's Arminius can be understood only in the context of the foundation of the German Empire in 1871, its music continues to move us even today: a genuine masterpiece by this still undervalued Brahms contemporary!


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bruch, Max [Composer] : Arminius, oratorio for soloists, chorus & orchestra, Op. 43
  • Performers: Hans Begemann (Bass); Ryoko Morooka (Organ); Michael Smallwood (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Hermann Max
  • Ensemble: Göttingen Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: 02/28/2009-03/02/2009
  • Running Time: 3 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1877