1 800 222 6872

Mendelssohn: Complete Symphonies Vol 6 / Fey, Heidelberg SO

Album Summary

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Symphony no 2 in B flat major, Op. 52 "Lobgesang"
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The sixth and final release of the complete Mendelssohn Symphonies by the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra and Thomas Fey. Symphony No. 2, called "Lobgesang" by the composer, is a fitting and grand conclusion to this project, released in celebration of Mendelssohn's 200th anniversary. Thomas Fey's recordings of Mendelssohn's complete symphonies reveal the composer to be a passionate, energetic composer, embodying the true spirit of early Romanticism. These recordings will inspire a second look at Mendelssohn, the Symphonist.

Gramophone Magazine
Markus Schäfer...rises to the occasion of the most dramatic episode in the work...without veering into the operatic; Eleonore Marguerre answers beautifully...There is, throughout, splendid playing from the Heidelburgers.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mendelssohn, Felix : Symphony no 2 in B flat major, Op. 52 "Lobgesang"
  • Performers: Eleonore Marguerre; Markus Schafer (Voice); Ulrika Strömstedt
  • Conductor: Thomas Fey
  • Ensemble: Heidelberg Symphony
  • Notes: Kongresshaus Stadthalle Heidelberg (03/25/2009-03/26/2009)
  • Running Time: 56 min. 36 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: circa 1840