1 800 222 6872

Othmas Schoeck: Notturno, Five movements for string quartet & voice / Christian Gerhaher, baritone; Rosamunde Quartett

Notes & Reviews:

A leading composer of his native Switzerland, Othmar Schoeck (1886–1957) has never acquired a stable reputation outside the German-speaking world. This should change now with Notturno, a very personal work that serves as an intimate confession after an unhappy extra-marital love affair. The highly differentiated interpretation by baritone Christian Gerhaher - one of the most distinguished young German "Lied" singers and a former disciple of Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau - and the Grammy-nominated Rosamunde Quartett offers a strong plea for Schoeck's expressive music and sheds a probing light on his artistic preoccupation with the dark abysses of human existence.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased