1 800 222 6872

Beethoven Complete Symphonies Vol. 3 - Symphony No.9 (1951-1954)

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

The great German conductor Hermann Scherchen began his career as a violist, playing with the Bluthner Orchestra of Berlin while still in his teens. He began conducting in 1914 and worked in Latvia and Germany until 1933, when he moved to Switzerland in protest of the Nazi regime. Although Scherchen was a major champion of contemporary composers such as Schonberg, Strauss, Webern, Berg and Varese, he was no stranger to the classic repertoire. He is perhaps best known for his orchestral arrangement of Johann Sebastian Bach's The Art of Fugue. Also of note is his 1958 recording of Beethoven's third symphony for the Westminster label, containing what is still one of the fastest first movements ever recorded and the closest to Beethoven's own metronome marking. This complete set of Beethoven symphonies is culled from various recordings made between 1951 and 1954 and is a fascinating record of Scherchen's view of these immortal works.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: 09/1953.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
  • Performers: Magda Laszlo (Voice); Richard Standen (Bass); Petre Munteanu (Bass)
  • Conductor: Hermann Scherchen
  • Running Time: 46 min. 4 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1824