1 800 222 6872

Karl Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace

Album Summary

>Jenkins, Karl : A Mass for Peace "The Armed Man"
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Large in both scope and scale, 'The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace' is a profoundly moving yet very accessible work which uses the most traditional of means to explore an all too contemporary subject. As Karl Jenkins explains, 'As I started composing The Armed Man, the tragedy of Kosovo unfolded. I was reminded daily of the horror of such conflict and so I dedicate the work to the victims of Kosovo'.

Notes & Reviews:

Personnel: Anne Marie Cullum, Lisa Spurgeon, Eleanor Pomfret, Helen Lloyd, Laura Mardel, Davina Bailey, Alisa Murray, Elizabeth Witts, Elizabeth Nunns, Sarah Pett, Helen Tweedy, Emily Beahan, Rachel Howells, Silvia Garnsey, Rea Lawrenson, Penny Dell, Susie Parkes, Alexandra Parr, Kitty Whately, Susannah Vango, Rebecca Clark, Louise Cunningham, Victoria Stanyon, Alice Wratten, Maddy DuMont, Lucy Bland, Susannah Bell, Jessica McClymont, Samantha Goodall, Natalie Ashton, Claire Buckley, Sarah Denbee, Sarah Fuggle, Tasanee Smith, Lara Wolinski, Eleanor Hamilton, Julianne Regan (soprano); Rachel Lloyd (mezzo soprano); Kevin Kyle, Damian Ward, Tom Johnson , Alexander Pidgen, Dominic Peckham, Gareth Moss, Julian Forbes, Wynne Evans, Mark Anyan, Seán Curran, Maxim Bendall, Ben Thapa, Simon Fowler , Mark Richardson , Andrew King , Carl Smith (tenor); Nicholas Merryweather (baritone, bass voice); Nathan Y. Jarvis, Jonathan Bowman, Benjamin Reid, Ross Furmedge, Mark Galtrey, Alan Easton, Andrew Davies , Michael Hartley, James Mansell, Timlin Murray, John Davies, Mike "V.G." Reynolds, Henry Kerswell, Philip Shakesby, Tom Lowe, Luke Gasper, Steve Acton, Edward Grint, James Davey, James Simpson, Jamy Holliday, Matthew Hill, Jon Bryan, Mark Anderson, Robbie O'Connell, Tom Armstrong, Ben Weaver (bass voice); Tristan Hambleton (treble); Guy Johnston , Paul Watkins (cello); Paul Beniston (trumpet); Jody Barratt Jenkins, Dave Hassell, Neil Percy (percussion).

Recording information: Air Studios, London, England (07/24/2000-06/15/2001); Angel Studios (07/24/2000-06/15/2001); EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (07/24/2000-06/15/2001); St. David's Hall, Cardiff, Wales (07/24/2000-06/15/2001).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Jenkins, Karl : A Mass for Peace "The Armed Man" :: A Mass for Peace, for soloists, chorus & orchestra
  • Performers: Paul Beniston (Trumpet); Tristan Hambleton (Treble); Dave Hassell (Percussion); Jody Jenkins (Percussion); Karl Jenkins (Piano); Guy Johnson (Cello); Rachel Lloyd (Mezzo Soprano); Nicholas Merryweather (Baritone); Susie Parkes (Soprano); Neil Percy (Percussion); Philip Shakesby (Bass); Elizabeth Watts
  • Conductor: Karl Jenkins
  • Notes: Air Studios, Lyndhurst Hall, London / Abbey Road Studios, London / Angel Studios (07/24/2000/08/11/2000)
  • Running Time: 65 min. 9 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1999