1 800 222 6872

David Blake: Violin Concerto; In Praise of Krishna

Album Summary

>Blake, David : Concerto for Violin
>Blake, David : In Praise of Krishna, for soprano & orchestra
Performers Conductors Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

BBC Music Magazine
NMC's Ancora series ... is to be welcomed without reservation... with fine performances from Iona Brown in the Concerto and Teresa Cahill in In Praise of Krishna, this is well worth having, and it may surprise 20th century British music lovers who think the post-Schoenbergian '70s young moderns have nothing to offer them.

Gramophone Magazine
Lyrical and sensuous qualities dominate In Praise of Krishna... the seven poems chart a course from desire, through longing, to fulfilment - in a song-cycle where the serene and the fervent exist in perfect accord. Alluring as the vocal line is, especially as rendered by Teresa Cahill, it is the translucency of ensemble, solo instruments emerging from and back into the texture with evocative poise, which most readily engaged attention - not least in so sensitive a performance as here.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Blake, David : Concerto for Violin
  • Performer: Iona Brown (Violin)
  • Conductor: Norman del Mar
  • Running Time: 14 min. 51 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto

>Blake, David : In Praise of Krishna, for soprano & orchestra
  • Performer: Teresa Cahill (Soprano)
  • Conductor: David Blake
  • Notes: Composition written: 1973.
  • Running Time: 23 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Vocal
  • Written: 1973