1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Triple Concerto; Brahms: Double Concerto

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Concerto for Piano, Violin and Cello in C major, Op. 56 "Triple Concerto"
>Brahms, Johannes : Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102 "Double"
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

The Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra perform these two popular concertos with Trio Poseidon taking the soloist roles. Sara Trobach Hesselink is the Leader of the Orchestra, Claes Gunnarsson is Principal Cellist and pianist Per Lundberg is Professor of the Royal College of Music in Stockholm. The Trio is now well established in their native Sweden. Beethoven's Triple Concerto was written in 1804 and on many levels is a highly emotional work. It is richly melodic with joyful as well as bleak moments. It could be considered a piano trio with orchestral accompaniment. The Brahms Double Concerto on the other hand is more akin to a piano trio in which the orchestra takes the role of the piano.

"Perhaps this recording sheds a little more light on these works, for the performances are very fine and deeply satisfying. Violinist Sara Troback Hesselink and cellist Claes Gunnarson are both first-rate. Gunnarsson's solos in the slow movement of the Beethoven are gorgeous, and they both capture the lightness of the finale very nicely. In the Brahms they seem uncommonly well attuned to each other; and the solo passages, more than usual, seem to grow from the orchestral fabric, rather than contrasting with it. The hero of the occasion, though, would be Jarvi, who adopts satisfying tempos in every movement and elicits excellent, alert, and rich-sounding playing from the Swedish orchestra. Chandos offers lengthy notes and great sound, warm and well balanced." - American Record Guide

Gramophone Magazine
There is much to be said for this purposeful yet agreeable Gothenburg recording of the Brahms Double Concerto...[Sara Trobäck & Claes Gunnarsson] are fine players who respond with civility and spirit to Järvi's cogent and forthright lead.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Concert Hall, Gothenburg, Sweden.


Lesser known pieces give alternate look into classical genius
The lush Chandos sound continues on these recordings of Beethoven's Triple Concerto (violin, cello, piano w/ orchestra) and Brahms' Double Concerto (violin, cello w/ orchestra). While these pieces pose a challenge to the listener (and quite possibly a challenge to the composers), with the soloing instruments seeming to struggle for their moment in the spotlight, the genius of both composers remains evident. The 1887 Brahms Double is a darker, sometimes brooding romantic piece. While the 1803 Beethoven Triple is a lighter classically-oriented (read: Mozart) piece. The soloists from Trio Poseidon and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra play with masterful control and fervor when called upon by maestro Neeme Jarvi. Overall, highly recommended versions of these lesser known pieces.
Submitted on 05/28/10 by DanL 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Concerto for Piano, Violin and Cello in C major, Op. 56 "Triple Concerto"
  • Conductor: Neeme Järvi
  • Ensemble: Trio Poseidon
  • Notes: Concert Hall, Gothenburg, Sweden (02/22/2007-02/23/2007)
  • Running Time: 36 min. 53 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1803-1804

>Brahms, Johannes : Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102 "Double"
  • Performers: Claes Gunnarsson (Cello); Sara Trobäck (Violin)
  • Conductor: Neeme Järvi
  • Notes: Concert Hall, Gothenburg, Sweden (08/19/2004-08/20/2004)
  • Running Time: 32 min. 45 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1887