1 800 222 6872

Enrique Granados: Piano Trio; Piano Quintet

Album Summary

>Granados, Enrique : Piano Trio, Op. 50, H. 140
>Granados, Enrique : Piano Quintet in G minor, H. 112
>Granados, Enrique : Goyescas
Performers Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Performer, composer and teacher, Enrique Granados stood with de Falla and Albeniz as the most outstanding Spanish musician of his time. Among his dozen or so chamber works the 'Piano Trio' and 'Piano Quintet', both from 1894, exemplify Granados' highly expressive, Neo-romantic style, his piano writing revealing the hand of a virtuoso. Amiable touches of dance and salon music, hints of Moorish, gypsy and folkloric elements, co-exist in these beautiful, refined pieces. The famous 'Intermezzo' from his opera 'Goyescas', an Aragonese jota, is heard here in Gaspar Cassado's popular arrangement.

"The playing is superb. The LOM trio is a fine group. They are based in Spain and have won an impressive set of awards. They specialize in Spanish music, but not exclusively, and they don't try to insert a Hispanic accent here where it's not intended."-American Record Guide


Wonderful Chamber music by Enrique Granados
Let me begin by saying that I love the music of Granados. So any recording that does not just consist of the dozen or so pieces for piano that everyone plays and records is an exciting event for me. Granados was an outstanding pianist and has written some of the most beautiful piano music I know. But this CD contains chamber music(!), his Piano Quintet Op 49, Piano Trio Op 50, and an arrangement of the Intermezzo from the Opera Goyescas for piano trio by Gaspar Cassado, a star pupil of Pablo Casals. The Trio is a beautifully sunny work evoking a lovely, tranquil day on a patio in Barcelona, the kind of day in which nothing is pressing and the delicious wines of the area can be savored at leisure. The Quintet is somewhat more deliberate, which I suppose is inevitable in a work for five performers, but still has that relaxed quality about it that just makes one want to bask in its joyful impetuosity. The slow movement recalls to mind de Falla's Nights in the Gardens of Spain, but is a garden in the waning hours of a golden afternoon. The Goyescas Intermezzo was written in one night just before the premiere of the opera in New York and has an improvised quality about it, especially in this charming arrangement. This graceful and spontaneous music is exactly the kind of music that one would like to play with a few good friends, without haste, and without a care in the world. This is the music of a happy man, perhaps one recently married with thoughts of a joyous life to come dancing in his head. And it is catching. Performances by the LOM Trio (Daniel Ligorio piano, Joan Orpella violin, and Jose Mor cello) capture the mood and the essence of the music to perfection. The LOM Trio is joined by violinist Manuel Porta Gallego and violist Joaquin Riquelme Garcia in the quintet. If you like Granados in particular, or if you just like chamber music in general, you must own this disc. It is a delight.
Submitted on 04/27/10 by Leni Bogat 
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Enriqué Granados (1867 - 1916) : Piano Trio, Op. 50, H. 140
  • Ensemble: LOM Piano Trio
  • Running Time: 24 min. 1 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1894

>Enriqué Granados (1867 - 1916) : Piano Quintet in G minor, H. 112
  • Performers: Manuel Gallego (Violin); Joaquin Garcia (Viola)
  • Ensemble: LOM Piano Trio
  • Running Time: 15 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Chamber Music
  • Written: 1894-1895

>Enriqué Granados (1867 - 1916) : Goyescas
  • Ensemble: LOM Piano Trio
  • Running Time: 4 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1916