1 800 222 6872

Puccini: Madama Butterfly / Karajan, Freni, Pavarotti

Album Summary

>Puccini, Giacomo : Madama Butterfly
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

"Choosing an overall best often means conceding individual points to other recordings, but not so here...In this recording all the essential elements are at least as good as their rivals, and better integrated...Pavarotti is an ideal foil, the best Pinkerton on any complete set; he and Freni interact like no other pair on disc. His voice, caught at its peak, encompasses the music with deceptive ease, and his nature the character...[Karajan] conducts in towering form..." -Classic CD


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Puccini, Giacomo : Madama Butterfly
  • Performers: Marius Rintzler (Bass); Michel Sénéchal (Voice); Wolfgang Scheider (Bass); Giorgio Stendoro (Baritone); Evamaria Hurdes (Soprano); Siegfried Frese (Bass Baritone); Martha Heigl (Soprano); Hans Helm (Voice); Mirella Freni (Voice); Christa Ludwig (Voice); Luciano Pavarotti (Tenor); Elke Schary (Mezzo Soprano)
  • Conductor: Herbert Karajan
  • Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Composition written: 1904.
  • Running Time: 2 min. 57 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1904