1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Great Mass In C Minor

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Mass in C minor, K 427 (417a) "Great"
Performer Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

"This performance comes from a concert on September 29, 1959. The soloists were among the finest of the time, and Fricsay was among the best Mozart conductors of the period...There is, though, one compelling reason to get this: Maria Stader. The diminutive soprano never had a stage career because of her height (well under 5 feet), but in oratorio literature (and some opera on recordings) her powers of communication were supreme. If you want to hear how the "Christie" section of the opening movement should really go, here's your recording. The intense vibrancy of her tone, along with just the right amount of approach to the high A-flat, is what you've been dreaming of all these years...The sound has a low level of background hiss, but it is not obtrusive (and the recording is stereo). A nice historical reissue, then, and a must for Stader fans."-American Record Guide

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Grosser Sendesaal du SFB (09/29/1959).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Mass in C minor, K 427 (417a) "Great"
  • Performer: Maria Stader (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Ferenc Fricsay
  • Notes: Composition written: 1783.
  • Running Time: 7 min. 32 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1783
  • Studio/Live: Live