1 800 222 6872

Franz Schmidt: Symphony No. 3; Chaconne

Album Summary

>Schmidt, Franz : Symphony no 3 in A major
>Schmidt, Franz : Chaconne for Orchestra in D minor
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Franz Schmidt's Third Symphony was composed in 1927–28, dedicated to and premiered by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, winning a first prize from the Columbia Graphophone Company of New York for the best symphony in the spirit of Schubert's 'Unfinished' Symphony as part of the centenary commemorations of Schubert's birth. Schmidt's symphony is lyrical, includes a set of variations, a Landler-like Scherzo and finale rich in thematic invention. In 1931 Schmidt added wind and percussion instruments and a large body of strings to his monumental Chaconne for organ, in which form it too was premiered by the Vienna Philharmonic.

"...[The 3rd Symphony] here receives a performance of surely prize-winning vitality from Vassily Sinaisky and his Swedish orchestra as part of their ongoing and consistently impressive cycle of Schmidt symphonies." - BBC Music Magazine

"Schmidt's instrumental inventiveness and thematic resource are a constant delight, with Sinaisky and his players triumphantly surmounting every technical hurdle." -BBC Music Magazine *****

"Sinaisky's performance with the Malmö orchestra makes no apologies and plays every movement for all its worth, while the fill-up - Schmidt's orchestration of his almost half-hour-long Chaconne originally composed for organ - is a very generous one." -The Guardian ***

"Schmidt's symphonies have their passionate advocates, and this series of recordings under Vassily Sinaisky makes a good case for their naive beauties...Fascinating but decadent." -The Observer

"The sound is once more among the best of Naxos's orchestral releases, while the couplings could not be more appropriate...Those coming new to [the Schmidt symphonies] could not hope for a better entrée than through Sinaisky's persuasive readings." -International Record Review

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schmidt, Franz : Symphony no 3 in A major
  • Conductor: Vassili Sinaisky
  • Notes: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (08/25/2008-08/30/2008)
  • Running Time: 51 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1927-1928

>Schmidt, Franz : Chaconne for Orchestra in D minor
  • Conductor: Vassili Sinaisky
  • Notes: Malmö Concert Hall, Malmö, Sweden (06/02/2009-06/03/2009)
  • Running Time: 27 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Written: 1931