1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1; Capriccio Italien

> Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, "Winter Daydreams" - I. Allegro tranquillo (Dreams of a Winter Journey)
> Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, "Winter Daydreams" - II. Adagio cantabile ma non tanto (Land of Desolation, Land of mists)
> Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, "Winter Daydreams" - III. Scherzo: Allegro scherzando giocoso
> Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, "Winter Daydreams" - IV. Finale: Andante lugubre - Allegro maestoso
> Capriccio Italien, Op. 45 - Capriccio Italien, Op. 45

Album Summary

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 1 in G minor, Op. 13 "Winter daydreams"
>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Capriccio italien, Op. 45
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

The Deutsche Radio Philharmonie's Tchaikovsky cycle, conducted by Christoph Poppen, has its own special character, which emphasizes finely differentiated, chamber-musical interplay. On the second CD of this series, Christoph Poppen contrasts two programmatically, or at least poetically motivated works by Tchaikovsky, his Symphony No. 1 "Winter Dreams" and the Capriccio Italien. The latter, according to the composer, was based on authentic Italian melodies, only some of which, however, have as yet been identified. The subtitles of the first two movements of the First Symphony were provided by Tchaikovsky. They should not be understood as a "program", however, but rather as mood indications that give the movements - written in conventional forms - a framework. Correspondingly, he gave the last two movements conventional tempo markings.

"The symphony receives an energetic reading in this 2010 album by Christoph Poppen and the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, and even though the poetic subtitles of this piece suggest dreamy fogs and mists of a desolate Russian countryside, there is really nothing soporific in the playing... The filler selection is 'Capriccio Italien', a colorful fantasy on themes Tchaikovsky picked up on a trip to Italy. The mood of this piece is quite sunny, and Poppen and the orchestra give it a delightfully upbeat performance, full of the brightest colors and the irrepressible rhythms that have made this one of Tchaikovsky's greatest hits. Oehms' sound is full-bodied and naturally resonant." -All Music Guide


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased



Works Details

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 1 in G minor, Op. 13 "Winter daydreams"
  • Conductor: Christoph Poppen
  • Notes: Congresshalle Saarbrücken (12/13/2007-12/16/2007)
  • Running Time: 42 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1866
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Capriccio italien, Op. 45
  • Conductor: Christoph Poppen
  • Notes: Rheingoldhalle Mainz (12/29/2009-01/01/2010)
  • Running Time: 15 min. 50 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1880
  • Studio/Live: Live