1 800 222 6872

Wolf-Ferrari: Il Segreto di Susanna / Petrenko, Canturri

Album Summary

>Wolf-Ferrari, Ermanno : Il segreto di Susanna
>Wolf-Ferrari, Ermanno : Serenata, songs (5) for voice & piano
Performers Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Vasily Petrenko and the RLPO first collaborated with the Liverpool-based European Opera Centre on a Russian double bill of Shostakovich's The Gamblers' and Rothschild's Violin by Fleishman. The resulting 2-CD set garnered a Gramophone Editor's Choice and contributed to Petrenko winning the Young Artist of the Year accolade at the 2007 Gramophone Awards. Now, the team reunites for a rare live recording of Wolf-Ferrari's humorous one-act opera, Susanna's Secret. The recording is uniquely rounded out with Wolf-Ferrari's Serenata, five songs extracted from his seldom-heard Italian Songbook.

BBC Music Magazine
This live Liverpool performance (2008) goes swimmingly under Vasily Petrenko. Soprano Dora Rodrigues has allure as Susanna, with baritone Marc Canturri graceful as her volatile husband...Canturri is solid [in the songs] too, with Anna Tilbrook supplying spirited accompaniments.

Gramophone Magazine
The songs, a set of five, are as charming as the opera, and like the opera are full of elusive musical allusions. The excellent Anna Tilbrook accompanies, and in the opera the Liverpool Philharmonic plays stylishly for its young conductor Vasily Petrenko.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Wolf-Ferrari, Ermanno : Il segreto di Susanna
  • Conductor: Vasily Petrenko
  • Running Time: 2 min. 57 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 12/04/1909
  • Studio/Live: Live

>Wolf-Ferrari, Ermanno : Serenata, songs (5) for voice & piano
  • Performers: Marc Canturri (Baritone); Anna Tilbrook (Piano)
  • Running Time: 9 min. 20 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Vocal